Dr Timothy Crook, Consultant Medical Oncologist at Cromwell Hospital, is presenting alongside international colleagues at the European Society for Medical Oncology (ESMO) in October.

ESMO is the leading professional organisation for medical oncology. With more than 30,000 members representing oncology professionals from 168 countries worldwide, ESMO is the society of reference for oncology education and information.

The ESMO Congress is the most influential oncology platform for clinicians, researchers, patient advocates, journalists, and healthcare industry representatives from all over the world. The Congress will disseminate the latest cutting-edge data, provide high quality education and unparalleled networking opportunities for oncologists and other stakeholders from all around the world.

Dr Crook is presenting co-authored abstracts on two joint pieces of research, ‘Clinical evaluation of a CE-IVD Liquid Biopsy Pan Cancer genomic profiling test’(1) and ‘A circulating tumor cell (CTC) based assay for diagnostic immunocytochemistry profiling of lung cancer’(2).

The research was supported by Datar Cancer Genetics. Datar Cancer Genetics is a leader in developing blood-based diagnostics that can detect cancer early, offer non-invasive investigations for better treatment options, and track the progression of the disease or its recurrence.

“Over the past 2 years, the USFDA has recognised the potential of our CTC based cancer detection solutions and has awarded it the Breakthrough Device Designation for Breast, Prostate and Brain Tumors” said Dr. Vineet Datta, Executive Director of Datar. “The ability to detect early-stage cancer accurately from a simple blood draw, will encourage more men and women to participate in cancer screening for a safer future.”

Cromwell Hospital is working with Datar Cancer Genetics as a trusted second opinion partner.

1 Authors: T. Crook , M. Agarwal , J. Wadhwa , N. Shrivastava , S. Apurwa , H. Darokar , R. Datar , D. Akolkar, S. Schuster , V. Datta , A. Saha , S. Sahni
2 Authors: N. Rohatgi , R. Kurzrock , V. Datta , S. Murthy , D. Fonseca , S. Kodandapani , V. Kunteepuram , S. Apurwa , A. Adhav , R. Chougule , D. Reismann , R. Datar , T. Crook , G. Kaye , N. Plowman , R. Tippett , D.S. Patil , S. Limaye , S.J. Rajappa